Santa Monica College News & Events


< Return To Archive | Print This Page

CONTACT: Bruce Smith
Public Information Officer
(310) 434-4209
DATE: May 16, 2005


The SMC Board of Trustees has created and appointed members to a President Search Committee with representatives of all internal and external constituency groups. The committee, whose first meeting will be May 24, is charged with assisting in the recruitment of a new president and recommending three to five candidates to the Board for final selection.

SMC is currently looking for a successor to Dr. Piedad F. Robertson, who retired from the presidency Jan. 31 to take the chief executive position at Denver-based Education Commission of the States. Thomas J. Donner is serving as interim president through the end of 2005.
Appointed to the 16-member committee were:

• Three faculty members (on the joint recommendation of the Academic Senate and Faculty Association) – Academic Senate President Lesley Kawaguchi, Academic Senate President-elect Richard Tahvildaran-Jesswein and Faculty Association President Lantz Simpson.

• Three classified employees – Giovanni Vela, president of Chapter 36 of the Classified School Employees Association; Leroy Lauer, payroll specialist; and Jim Serikawa, media services technician.

• Three students – Sadia Afolabi, Associated Students director of academic services and vice president-elect; Mark Abraham; and Erica Miles.

• Three managers – Mona Martin, dean of learning resources; Jeffery Peterson, director of operations; and Teresita Rodriguez, dean of enrollment services.

• Four community members – Dr. Monika White, executive director of the Center for Healthy Aging, past president of the SMC Associates and current Associates board member; former Santa Monica Mayor Judy Abdo, a member of the SMC General Advisory Board; Dr. Matt Dinolfo, a physician, GAB and Associates member who ran unsuccessfully for the Santa Monica City Council last November; and Malibu City Councilwoman Sharon Barovsky.

# # #





^ Back to the top
Copyright © 2005 Santa Monica Community College